Rather, Mapes, and Stewart Win Peabody Awards

Dan Rather, Mary Mapes, and Jon Stewart have won Peabody Awards for excellence in broadcasting.

CBS Wins Peabody for Abu Ghraib Report (Reuters)

CBS News won a Peabody Award on Thursday for its report on abuse at the Abu Ghraib prison in Iraq, a story anchored by Dan Rather and produced by Mary Mapes, who was later fired by CBS for her role in the story about President Bush’s military service.

Comedy Central’s Jon Stewart won his second Peabody Award, for his satiric take on the 2004 election campaign, while HBO’s Western “Deadwood” also won.

The George Foster Peabody awards, for broadcasting excellence in both news and entertainment, are given by the University of Georgia. Thirty-two awards will be handed out at the ceremony May 16.

Apparently, there was no category for which Michael Moore was eligible.

James Joyner
About James Joyner
James Joyner is Professor and Department Head of Security Studies at Marine Corps University's Command and Staff College and a nonresident senior fellow at the Scowcroft Center for Strategy and Security at the Atlantic Council. He's a former Army officer and Desert Storm vet. Views expressed here are his own. Follow James on Twitter @DrJJoyner.


  1. that their story was crap, refused to admit they were duped or lied; Despite that fact that Rather and Mapes to this day stand by the story giving us the new MSM catchphrase “fake but accurate,”; despite all of this, Rather and Mapes were awarded a Peabody Award for their coverage of the Abu Ghraib story. True, there’s no evidence anything in the Abu Ghraib story was inaccurate, but it was produced by proven liars and dupes. Doesn’t matter, at least not to their peers.

  2. McGehee says:

    Not even “Most likely to eat Mr. Peabody — and Sherman too”?

  3. Ripper says:

    That’s Mr. Peabody to you.

  4. Maggie says:

    You mean they haven’t created a new award yet?

    “The Dan Rather Legacy Achievement Award”

    I’m sure Michael Moore would qualify to win.

  5. Ipse Dixit says:

    That About Sums It Up
    “Dan Rather, Mary Mapes, and Jon Stewart have won Peabody Awards for excellence in broadcasting…. Apparently, there was no category…

  6. Around the Blogosphere, SE
    Liberal with a pie v. David Horowitz Michelle Malkin, Outside the Beltway US Bloggers v. Canada Outside the Beltway, Captain’s…

  7. Define ‘excellence’