Frank J posts a Frank Guide to Homeland Security Alert Levels, clarifying some my recent concerns:

First, here is what the alert levels mean in general:
*Green (Low): All evil had been destroyed. The world is now a peaceful utopia.
*Blue (Guarded): There’s still the occasional pickpocket, so show a little caution.
*Yellow (Elevated): Terror lurks in the shadows; be wary.
*Orange (High): The terrorists are out there and they are coming for YOU!
*Red (Severe): The world is exploding around you. The only law is your own gun.

To be more specific, here is how you should you act in different situations based on the alert levels.

How should I store my firearms?
*Green: Throw them in the fire. There is no more need for weapons.
*Blue: Wrap them in some rags and store them in the attic somewhere in case you need them one day.
*Yellow: Keep both your guns and ammo readily accessible.
*Orange: Load your gun and carry it on you at all times, even around the house.
*Red: The gun should be in your hand, pointed in front of you with your finger resting on the trigger.

Click the link for the exciting conclusion.

(Hat tip: Inoperable Terran)

James Joyner
About James Joyner
James Joyner is Professor and Department Head of Security Studies at Marine Corps University's Command and Staff College. He's a former Army officer and Desert Storm veteran. Views expressed here are his own. Follow James on Twitter @DrJJoyner.


  1. The Admiral says:

    Washington D. C. ALERT …
    A new color code is being added – it is BLACK.
    The color BLACK will be reserved for future use beyond 2008 when, sooner or later, a Dimocrap will be elected. BLACK will indicate that the president is busy spotting a blue dress in the oval office instead of doing anything to ptotect this great Country.