Venus Williams Wimbledon Controversy
Chair umpire Ted Watts incorrectly called the score as 2-2 in the second-set tiebreaker, giving Sprem a point when instead she should have been taking a second serve. Both players appeared confused, but neither disputed the call. Tournament referee Alan Mills confirmed the umpire made a mistake but said the result would stand.
Williams, who won Wimbledon in 2000 and 2001 and lost in the last two finals to her sister, Serena, didn’t blame the scoring error for her defeat. She had plenty of chances to force a third set, but blew three set points and lost the last five points. “I don’t think one call makes a match,” she said.
Wow. That’s a class attitude to take, considering the circumstances. A tie-breaker point is much more important than a point in a game in the middle of a set.