Checking my HostingMatters site stats, which I haven’t done in awhile, I discover that I’ve gotten over 150 visitors via a site at http://www.mediathatmattersfest.org some time in September. I can’t even get the URL itself to pop up, as it autoredirects me to http://www.mediathatmattersfest.org/mtm03/index.php. Anyone out there have any clue what this is about?

James Joyner
About James Joyner
James Joyner is Professor and Department Head of Security Studies at Marine Corps University's Command and Staff College. He's a former Army officer and Desert Storm veteran. Views expressed here are his own. Follow James on Twitter @DrJJoyner.


  1. joy says:

    hrm, someone is a little too busy to google I see…

    Megnut posting about the mediathatmattersfest.org. It appears to be an online film festival.

    Why you got linked, I have no idea since you didn’t reveal wether your blog or a specific post was linked. But looking at the google results, I could just take a wild guess it was something political. 😛

  2. James Joyner says:


    That much I got:) I was able to peruse the site a bit from the links on the redirect page. Just nothing that made it obvious why I’d have been linked.

    I’m not sure if it was the blog or a specific post. The site stats don’t show that. I never noticed that URL in SiteMeter.

  3. joy says:

    Well if you were really interested, you could download your raw log files and do a search on the text string of mediamattersfest.org to see what they were linking to.

    However, that is a pain in the you know where which is why I like monitoring my site stats with my realtime visitor count and sitemeter.

  4. James Joyner says:

    Yep. I use SiteMeter mainly for that purpose. I just somehow missed the surge from that site, which almost had to have been in a short period of time. I haven’t been monitoing them that closely of late, given other distractions.