AP Calls Alaska Senate Race For Murkowski

The Associated Press has declared Lisa Murkowski the winner in Alaska’s Senate race:

JUNEAU, Alaska—Sen. Lisa Murkowski has become the first Senate candidate in more than 50 years to win a write-in campaign.

Ms. Murkowski emerged victorious after a painstaking, two-week count of write-in ballots showed she has overtaken tea party rival Joe Miller.

Her victory became clear when Alaska election officials confirmed they had only about 700 votes left to count, putting Ms. Murkowski in safe territory to win re-election.

Ms. Murkowski has a lead of about 10,000 votes, a total that includes 8,153 ballots in which Mr. Miller observers challenged over things like misspellings, extra words or legibility issues.

Joe Miller, the ball is in your court.


FILED UNDER: 2010 Election, US Politics, , , , ,
Doug Mataconis
About Doug Mataconis
Doug Mataconis held a B.A. in Political Science from Rutgers University and J.D. from George Mason University School of Law. He joined the staff of OTB in May 2010 and contributed a staggering 16,483 posts before his retirement in January 2020. He passed far too young in July 2021.


  1. PD Shaw says:

    It’s Miller Time . . .

    After several hard fought weeks of elections, punishing critics and abusing the English language, it’s time to head for the best tasting beer you can find.

    ‘Cause you’ve now got the time, and Miller’s got the beer.

  2. Janis Gore says:

    Good. I have it in for people who mess with my computers, forget the politics.